The University of Cincinnati Classics Department is pleased to offer the Margo Tytus Visiting Scholars Program, for study and research in the fields of philology, history, or archaeology at the John Miller Burnam Classics Library. Apart from residence in Cincinnati for the term of the relevant fellowship, the only obligation of Tytus Scholars is to pursue their own research. They will also be able to access the Klau Library at neigboring Hebrew Union College. Applicants for this program will ordinarily be a minimum of five years beyond receipt of the Ph.D., though there is some flexibility with this requirement. The program's criteria favor scholars with notable publication histories, in fields of interest to department faculty and current graduate students. Preference will be given to those who have not previously been able to use the resources of the Burnam Classics Library.

Tytus scholars are expected to be in residence at the University of Cincinnati for a minimum of one semester and, in rare circumstances, a maximum of two during the regular academic year; Fall semester is approximately from early September to the December break, Spring from January through April; see the UC Academic Calendar.

In exceptional circumstances, Tytus Scholars may be appointed for a shorter term (one to two months) during the regular academic year. 
Tytus Scholars will receive a monthly stipend of $1500 plus housing near campus and a transportation allowance, as well as office space attached to the Burnam Classics Library.

There is also a Summer Residency Program, which comes under a different application and which has some different provisions.

The application period for 2023-2024 is closed. We will post a link to the 2024-2025 application in the Fall.

Application Deadline: March 15. Please apply online. Questions can be directed to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., Director, Visiting Scholars Programs.

The University of Cincinnati Department of Classics is pleased to announce the following Tytus Scholars for the 2022-2023 academic year:

Robin Nadeau (York University, Canada) - Feeding on Words. Literature on Food and Cuisine in the Ancient Mediterranean World
J. Clayton Fant (University of Akron) - Dressing Rome for rule: marble in imperial buildings
Nassos Papalexandrou (University of Texas) - Greek Antiquities as Diplomatic Gifts in Greek-US Political Relations after WWII
Maria Gerolemou (University of Exeter, UK) - Missing Persons in Antiquity
We also have a complete list of previous recipients.