Department of ClassicsUniversity of Cincinnati
Department of Classics


Left to right: Amanda Hatch, Michelle Martinez, David Eichert, Sarah Evans, Daniel Markovic (undergraduate advisor), Lindsay Taylor, Connor Ginty

Classics undergraduate and graduate students received a bumper crop of awards and recognitions this spring. 

UNDERGRAD: Classics Club Certaminators, Emily Blatz, David Eichert, Connor Ginty, and Michelle Martinez, won the first place in the Certamen at the Eta Sigma Phi Centennial Convention in Chicago. Michelle Martinez has won the APA's Minority Summer Fellowship in Classics and Classical Archaeology; she has been elected the President of the Ohio Senior Classical League. Michelle also won the AIA Jace C. Waldbaum Archaeological Field Scholarship for 2014. Amanda Hatch has won the Foreign Language and Area Studies fellowship for the Indiana University Summer Language Workshop in Slavic, East European, and Central Asian Languages program (for the Turkish language); David Eichert has won the Phi Beta Kappa Live Your Language Prize, and the second place in the Eta Sigma Phi M. D. Watkins Annual Translation Competition for his Koine Greek translation. 

At UC, Jack Barendt won the Outstanding Beginning German Student Award; Amanda Hatch won the Outstanding Upper-Level German Student award, the Poll Prize (the Outstanding Graduating Senior), and the Max Kade Fellowship for next year.

In the Classics Department, the Capstone Prize went to Amanda Hatch for her paper on “More than Servi filia Sulpicia: Examining the Female, Feminine, and Feminist Perspectives in Sulpicia’s Love Elegies,” written for LATN 4004 Latin Elegy. The Classical Civilization Paper Prize went to Sarah Evans for her paper on “Women as Warrior Queens,” written for CLAS 2011 Classics and Cinema.Translation prizes were also awarded: Greek Senior Translation Prize: Michelle Martinez; Latin Senior Translation Prize: David Eichert; Greek Junior Translation Prize: Connor Ginty; Latin Junior Translation Prize: Lindsay Taylor. 

GRAD:  Dr. Natalie Abell (Ph.D. '14) won the College of Arts & Sciences Outstanding Ph.D. student award; Kristina Neumann won the UC Isabel and Mary Neff Fellowship; Emily Egan won a Dean's Fellowship for dissertation completion; Catherine Baker was named an alternate for the Fulbright to Italy and she has been appointed Instructor at the Intercollegiate Center for Classical Study (the Centro) for next year; Taylor Coughlan was named an alternate for the Fulbright to Greece;Amanda Pavlick won a University Research Council Graduate Student Summer Research Grant; Emilia Oddo won a Richard Seager grant for study at the East Crete Study Center; Chris Motz, received an ASCSA Summer Session fellowship.